Abberley: the basics

The parish of Abberley is listed in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Edbolgslede.

At the time, the population consisted of 18 villagers, 8 Abberley mapsmallholders,  1 slave,  1 priest, 3 cottagers and 1 Frenchman.  It has grown a little since then.

The following information concerns the basic administrative history of the parish, and the local authorities and organisations of which it is or has been a part over the years.  It is very useful to know these boundaries when carrying out research using public records in the County Record Office.

Bartholomew’s Survey Gazetteer of the British Isles, 9th edition, 1963

‘Abberley: parish and seat NW Worcs, 4m SW of Stourport; 2360a, pop  467, ecclesiastical district 484, to the south are the Abberley Hills. PO [Post Offfice].’
Location: OS Ref: SO752680.  On the A443, 12 miles N.W. of Worcester & 11 miles W by N from Droitwich

Administrative units:

Manors and early ecclesiastical governance: The Victoria County History of Worcestershire, published in 1924, provides a comprehensive summary of the ownership and constitution of the medieval and early modern manors of Abberley and of the medieval parish,

Ecclesiastical: Ancient parish. Archdeaconry of Salop, Diocese of Hereford until 1919, when transferred to the Diocese of Worcester.
Burford Rural Deanery (until 1878), Burford (East) Rural Deanery (1878-98), Bewdley Rural Deanery, (1898-1926), Mitton Rural Deanery (1926-1973), Stourport Rural Deanery (1974-present)

Parish Church:St Mary’s, Abberley was built in 1850 to replace the old Norman Church of St Michael, which still stands in the centre of the village.

Abberley Local Government: Martley Poor Law Union (1836-1930), Martley Rural District Council (1895-1974), Malvern Hills District Council and Wyre Forest District Council (1974-present)

County council: Worcestershire County Council (1889-1974), Hereford & Worcester County Council (1974-1998), Worcestershire County Council (1998-present)

Parliamentary: Western Division (1832-1918); Bewdley Division (1918-1948); Kidderminster Division (1948-1974); from 1974-present, the electoral registers for Abberley are prepared by the Wyre Forest and Malvern Hills district councils.

War Memorials: The names of those included on a war memorial at St. Mary’s Church are here. The names of those included on a war memorial at St. Mary’s Church following an Anson N9790 aircraft crash are here.

Names relating to Abberley in the National Archives: Click here for a list of names connected to Abberley taken from the National Archives.  The list is shown in both date and alphabetical order.  Can you provide any further information about any of the names/people?  We’d love to hear from you if you can – please contact us.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s